How long do I have to file a Florida auto accident case?Return to FAQ Videos
In the state of Florida you have a total of 4 years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit as a result of that accident in a court of law. That lawsuit will be filed against the person who was at fault for the accident. If you have what’s called uninsured motorist, then you have an extra year for that specific cause of action. However, you have to bring the case within 4 years against the person at fault.